Duke Performances

Opus One

Saturday, December 11, 2010 | 8:00 pm

Reynolds Industries Theater

A chamber music supergroup, Opus One brings together four of the most renowned musicians of our time, veterans of ensembles like Tashi, the Beaux Arts Trio, and the Orion and Guarneri String Quartets. As Opus One, these advocates of contemporary American music create work that’s “passionate, lushly textured; and impeccably balanced” (NY Times). Here, Brahms and Beethoven surround a new work by the “radiantly visionary” Lowell Liebermann (Time). The Brahms Opus 60 is considered by many to be the most intense piano quartets ever written.

BEETHOVEN: Piano Quartet in E-flat Major, Op. 16
LOWELL LIEBERMANN: Quartet for Piano and Strings, Op. 114
BRAHMS: Quartet No. 3 in C Minor, Op. 60, Werther

Want to support forward-thinking artists and enhance Durham's performing arts community?

Donate to Duke Performances

Tickets for Duke Students!

View all discount packages
Scroll Up