Duke Performances

Horszowski Trio

Saturday, November 8, 2014 | 8:00 pm

Baldwin Auditorium

A vital young New York ensemble, the Horszowski Trio was founded in 2011, whereupon the New Yorker declared it “destined for great things.” Named for legendary teacher Mieczysław Horszowski, under whom pianist Rieko Aizawa studied as the master’s last pupil, the Trio have been praised for their “big, bold, dug-in tone” (Los Angeles Times).

The Horszowski guide us on an internal spiritual journey, which opens with the reverie of Haydn’s Trio in C Major, and then turns to the elegiac For Daniel, written by contemporary American composer Joan Tower upon the death of her young nephew. The pain of loss becomes a struggle for resolution with Tchaikovsky’s Piano Trio in A Minor.


Haydn: Piano Trio in C Major, Hob. XV:21
Joan Tower: For Daniel
Tchaikovsky: Piano Trio in A Minor, op. 50

Want to support forward-thinking artists and enhance Durham's performing arts community?

Donate to Duke Performances

Tickets for Duke Students!

View all discount packages
Scroll Up