Duke Performances

Eliot Quartett

Saturday, February 26, 2022 | 8:00 pm

Chamber Arts Series

Baldwin Auditorium

Duke Performances Chamber Arts Series subscriptions are now on sale. Single tickets, including $10 Duke student tickets, go on sale Tuesday, November 9 at 11 AM.


Named after the poet T.S. Eliot, the globe-trotting Eliot Quartett occupies the slot in the CAS series that is reserved each year for one of the world’s brightest up-and-coming string quartets.   Recognized internationally for their interpretations of Mozart’s music, they received second prize at the cutthroat Mozart International Competition in Salzburg in 2018. Here, they open with Mozart’s posthumously published String Quartet No. 21 in D Major, K. 575, the first of the quartets commissioned by the King of Prussia. Nicknamed “The Violet,” this quartet prominently features the cello, a nod to its patron and his skill with the instrument. The Eliot then pivots to Prokofiev’s String Quartet No. 2 in F Major, op. 92 and its delightfully folkish tunes and textures before concluding with Franck’s cyclic String Quartet in D Major, in commemoration of the composer’s 200th birthday.

— Jeremy Reynolds


Current Duke Performances COVID-19 regulations


Mozart: K. 575 in D Major
Prokofiev: String Quartet no. 2
Franck: String Quartet in D Major (for Franck’s 200th birthday)

Mendelssohn Quartett e moll Satz 2 | Eliot Quartett

"...organic and dignified and with flawless intonation"