Duke Performances
Calefax Reed Quintet 'Edvard Grieg 'Air' from 'Aus Holbergs Zeit''

Calefax Reed Quintet

Saturday, April 4, 2020 | 8:00 pm

Chamber Arts Series

Baldwin Auditorium

Renewals for Duke Performances’ Classical Series subscriptions — including the Chamber Arts Series, Piano Recital Series, and Vocal Ensemble Series — are now on sale. The renewal deadline for current subscribers is MONDAY, JUNE 3. Renewals can be purchased online, via phone at 919-684-4444, and in person at the Duke University Box Office, Monday through Friday, 11 AM to 6 PM.

New subscriptions will go on sale TUESDAY, JUNE 11 at 11 AM. Single tickets will go on sale TUESDAY, JUNE 18 at 11 AM. New subscriptions and single tickets will be available for purchase online, via phone, and in person.


The Calefax Reed Quintet returns to Durham for an evening of impressive musicianship, remarkable arrangements, and unusual unseated staging. Formed in 1987 and based in Amsterdam, Calefax classifies itself as “a classical ensemble with a pop mentality.” Its vast repertoire ranges from the 12th century to the 21st. The quintet makes many of its own arrangements, eradicating the borders between early and new music. The ensemble frequently collaborates with living composers.

Calefax’s ambitious program opens with an arrangement of Mozart’s imposing C Minor string quintet, which was itself a rearrangement of a wind quintet. Liszt’s visionary “Years of Pilgrimage” carries the audience from Vienna through the mountains of Switzerland. The second half of the evening contrasts the 18th-century Italian sinfonia of Locatelli with the lushness of Henriette Bosmans’ string quartet (a must hear if you haven’t), the quirky complexity of two of Nancarrow’s “Studies” for player piano, and the epic misadventures of Strauss’s Till Eulenspiegel.


Mozart: Quintet in C Minor, KV. 406

Liszt: Années de Pelerinage Suisse

Locatelli: Introduzione teatrale

Bosmans: String Quartet (1927)

Nancarrow: Studies for Player Piano No. 2 & No. 3c

Strauss: Till Eulenspiegel

“Incredible [...] almost everything Calefax touches turns to gold.”

De Telegraaf

Want to support forward-thinking artists and enhance Durham's performing arts community?

Donate to Duke Performances

Tickets for Duke Students!

View all discount packages
Scroll Up