17/18 Chamber Arts Series: Smetana Trio

17/18 Chamber Arts Series: Smetana Trio

Saturday, February 17 | 8 pm
$20 Ages 30 & Under
$10 Duke Students

Reserved Seating

Duke Performances 2017/18 season ticket packages — including the Pick-Four or More, Chamber Arts Series, Piano Recital Series, and Vocal Ensemble Series — will go on sale to the general public on TUESDAY, JUNE 20 at 11 AM. Single tickets to Duke Performances 2017/18 shows will go on sale TUESDAY, JULY 11 at 11 AM. Tickets will be available for purchase online, via phone at 919-684-4444, and in person at the Duke University Box Office, Monday through Friday, 11 AM to 6 PM.

Renewal deadlines for current subscribers for Duke Performances season ticket packages are as follows: Chamber Arts Series (Friday, April 21), Piano Recital Series (Friday, May 26), and Vocal Ensemble Series (Friday, May 26).


To be any more ingrained in the proud Czech musical lineage than the Smetana Trio may be impossible. Founded in 1934 by titanic Czech pianist Josef Páleníček, the trio borrows its name from Bedřich Smetana, the nineteenth-century composer whose operas and short symphonic works ably expressed and inspired the country’s quest for independence. While the luminaries of the Czech classical tradition remain central to the ensemble, though, the Smetana now frequently ventures beyond the boundaries of state and nation.

Praised by The Guardian for its “exuberant grandeur and concentrated precision,” the ensemble remains vigorous well into its ninth decade. At Duke Performances, the evening begins with the mercurial Piano Trio in D Minor by Austrian composer Alexander von Zemlinsky, and builds in excitement with the dramatic Shostakovich Piano Trio No. 1 in C Minor. The concert reaches its peak with Mendelssohn’s jubilant Piano Trio No. 1 in D Minor, a showcase for the Smetana’s trademark “musical skill, flawless ensemble, and exceptional communicative ability” (American Record Guide).


Zemlinsky: Piano Trio in D Minor, op. 3
Shostakovich: Piano Trio No. 1 in C Minor, op. 8 (“Poème”)
Mendelssohn: Piano Trio No. 1 in D Minor, op. 49