17/18 Chamber Arts Series: Quatuor Mosaïques

17/18 Chamber Arts Series: Quatuor Mosaïques

Saturday, October 21 | 3 pm
$20 Ages 30 & Under
$10 Duke Students

Reserved Seating

Duke Performances 2017/18 season ticket packages — including the Pick-Four or More, Chamber Arts Series, Piano Recital Series, and Vocal Ensemble Series — will go on sale to the general public on TUESDAY, JUNE 20 at 11 AM. Single tickets to Duke Performances 2017/18 shows will go on sale TUESDAY, JULY 11 at 11 AM. Tickets will be available for purchase online, via phone at 919-684-4444, and in person at the Duke University Box Office, Monday through Friday, 11 AM to 6 PM.

Renewal deadlines for current subscribers for Duke Performances season ticket packages are as follows: Chamber Arts Series (Friday, April 21), Piano Recital Series (Friday, May 26), and Vocal Ensemble Series (Friday, May 26). 


In many ways, it seems unfair to call Quatuor Mosaïques a period instrument quartet, though they are perhaps the preeminent period instrument quartet in the world. Yes, they play on gut strings and with instruments that often date to the works they play; they’ve even performed on the Stradivarius collection belonging to the king of Spain. But this long-running Austrian ensemble always seeks to vivify its repertoire, making it relevant, vibrant, and fresh.

In Durham, Quatuor Mosaïques presents a centuries-old conversation between two string quartet pioneers. The ensemble begins with two quartets from Mozart, the vivacious and wildly popular “Hunt,” K. 458,  and the swooping String Quartet No. 15 in D Minor, K. 421. Both quartets come from a set of four works Mozart dedicated to Haydn, whose own impeccable series of six string quartets, op. 20,  a decade earlier established bold new ideas and conventions for the form. The Mosaïques play the second of those, renewing its evocative, athletic twists and turns. Please note that this concert begins at 3 PM.


Mozart: String Quartet No. 17 in B-flat Major, K. 458 (“Hunt”)
Mozart: String Quartet No. 15 in D Minor, K. 421/417b
Haydn: String Quartet in C Major, op. 20, no. 2