17/18 Chamber Arts Series: Quatuor Danel

17/18 Chamber Arts Series: Quatuor Danel

Saturday, April 14 | 8 pm
$20 Ages 30 & Under
$10 Duke Students

Reserved Seating

Duke Performances 2017/18 season ticket packages — including the Pick-Four or More, Chamber Arts Series, Piano Recital Series, and Vocal Ensemble Series — will go on sale to the general public on TUESDAY, JUNE 20 at 11 AM. Single tickets to Duke Performances 2017/18 shows will go on sale TUESDAY, JULY 11 at 11 AM. Tickets will be available for purchase online, via phone at 919-684-4444, and in person at the Duke University Box Office, Monday through Friday, 11 AM to 6 PM.

Renewal deadlines for current subscribers for Duke Performances season ticket packages are as follows: Chamber Arts Series (Friday, April 21), Piano Recital Series (Friday, May 26), and Vocal Ensemble Series (Friday, May 26).


Hailed as “a model for any aspiring string quartet” by Gramophone, the France-bred, Belgium-based Quatuor Danel has emerged as a premier risk-taking ensemble during the last quarter century. Quatuor Danel matches its instrumental acumen with enthusiasm and audacity. A decade ago, they became the first group to record and perform all seventeen string quartets by Soviet-Polish Jewish composer Mieczysław Weinberg, who long languished in the shadow of Shostakovich despite the brilliance of his compositions. The Danel tackled Weinberg’s work only after setting a new standard for the complete string quartets of Shostakovich.

At Duke Performances, the Danel deliver a program of Russian masters. They begin with the second and final string quartet of Borodin, then play Weinberg’s String Quartet No. 3, a dynamic and daring work that rides waves of extreme tension and release. The Danel closes the concert with Shostakovich’s engrossing String Quartet No. 3 in F Major, a compelling and poignant examination of the world’s troubled state following World War II.


Borodin: String Quartet No. 2 in D Major
Mieczysław Weinberg: String Quartet No. 3 in D Minor, op. 14
Shostakovich: String Quartet No. 3 in F Major, op. 73