17/18 Chamber Arts Series: Escher String Quartet Ft. Jason Vieaux, Guitar

17/18 Chamber Arts Series: Escher String Quartet Ft. Jason Vieaux, Guitar

Saturday, December 9 | 8 pm
$20 Ages 30 & Under
$10 Duke Students

Reserved Seating

Duke Performances 2017/18 season ticket packages — including the Pick-Four or More, Chamber Arts Series, Piano Recital Series, and Vocal Ensemble Series — will go on sale to the general public on TUESDAY, JUNE 20 at 11 AM. Single tickets to Duke Performances 2017/18 shows will go on sale TUESDAY, JULY 11 at 11 AM. Tickets will be available for purchase online, via phone at 919-684-4444, and in person at the Duke University Box Office, Monday through Friday, 11 AM to 6 PM.

Renewal deadlines for current subscribers for Duke Performances season ticket packages are as follows: Chamber Arts Series (Friday, April 21), Piano Recital Series (Friday, May 26), and Vocal Ensemble Series (Friday, May 26).


During the last decade, New York’s Escher String Quartet has risen through the ranks of a crowded field to become one of music’s most exciting string ensembles. The credentials are impeccable: a residency at Stony Brook, the home of the masterful Emerson String Quartet; an early spot at Itzhak Perlman’s festival; and a post in Lincoln Center’s Chamber Music Society. The quartet has not, however, been limited by that ascendance. Instead, they’ve become eager collaborators, working with classical, jazz, and Latin legends alike. One of its more regular and rewarding partnerships has been with GRAMMY-winning guitarist Jason Vieaux, a new classical guitar luminary who, like Escher, prefers to move without clear stylistic restrictions.

The quartet and the guitarist first deliver separate, adventurous sets. The Escher plays a high-contrast quartet from Haydn (op. 76, no. 1), written after his return to Vienna, and two pieces by Kurtág, the entrancing Hommage à Jacob Obrecht and the dizzying Hommage à Mihály András, a tribute to the Hungarian composer and teacher. Vieaux explores an intricate Bach lute suite and the seductive “Rumores de la Caleta” from Spain’s Isaac Albéniz before playing two twentieth-century masterpieces: Tom Jobim’s “A Felicidade” and Duke Ellington’s “In a Sentimental Mood.” The five musicians then rendezvous for a kinetic finale: Boccherini’s aptly named guitar quintet, “Fandango.”


Haydn: String Quartet in G Major, op. 76, no. 1
György Kurtág: Hommage à Jacob Obrecht
György Kurtág: Hommage à Mihály András, 12 Microludes for String Quartet, op. 13
Bach: Lute Suite No. 1, BWV 996 (selections)
Albéniz: “Rumores de la Caleta” from Recuerdos de Viaje, op. 76    
Tom Jobim: A Felicidade
Ellington: In a Sentimental Mood
Boccherini: Guitar Quintet in D Major, G. 448 (“Fandango”)