Daniil Trifonov, Piano

Daniil Trifonov, Piano

Friday, March 31 2017 | 8 pm
$15 Ages 30 & under
$10 Duke students

Reserved Seating

Daniil Trifonov has CANCELLED his recital at Duke Performances on Friday, March 31. Mr. Trifonov is laid up at home with a 102 degree fever — he has regretfully cancelled all engagements for this week.

While we don’t have a reschedule date set currently, we will do all within our power to bring Mr. Trifonov to Durham for a recital whenever his extremely busy concert schedule permits.

Ticket refunds will be processed via check and mailed to buyers through USPS within the next 30 days. Note: The Duke University Box Office is not able to automatically process credit card refunds because, in the interest of online security, the Box Office deletes card records after each and every transaction.

Thanks, as always, for your support of the performing arts.


Daniil Trifonov has arrived as the unquestioned next superstar of classical piano. “What makes him such a phenomenon is the ecstatic quality he brings to his performances — an all-consuming intensity-of-belonging on the public platform that translates into something thrilling, absorbing, inspiring,” wrote the Financial Times. This prize pupil of Sergei Babayan (also seen at Duke Performances this season) has made rapturously received debuts in recent years as a soloist with the New York Philharmonic, the Mariinsky Orchestra, and the Vienna Philharmonic, as well as highly regarded recital appearances at Carnegie Hall.

The young Russian powerhouse will perform a program made up of miniatures. This includes pieces from his countrymen: several of Shostakovich’s Bach-inspired Preludes and Fugues, and selections from Stravinsky’s free-spirited ballet score for Petrouchka. He brings both sensitivity and fire to Schumann’s beloved compendia Kreisleriana and Kinderszenen, the latter a touching and nostalgic look back at childhood.


Schumann: Kinderszenen, op. 15
Schumann: Toccata in C Major, op. 7
Schumann: Kreisleriana, op. 16
Shostakovich: Selections from 24 Preludes and Fugues, op. 87
Stravinsky: Selections from Petrouchka