Ciompi Quartet • Concert No. 3

Ciompi Quartet • Concert No. 3

Featuring Dan Ruccia, conductor and Robbie Link, bass

Saturday, January 25 2014 | 8 pm
$15 Age 30 & under
$10 All students

General Admission Seating

The season’s third concert echoes its second with a modern masterpiece bookended by Beethoven and Brahms. The program begins with Beethoven's Quartet in A Major, Op. 18, No. 2 and continues with Brahms' stormy and emotional first quartet, which he published only after a decade of experiments, revisions, and polishing. The evening closes with John Adams' first classic, the ever-shifting minimalist piece Shaker Loops. Dan Ruccia conducts an ensemble of 12 players featuring bassist Robbie Link and some of the Duke Department of Music's most talented students. 

Beethoven: String Quartet No. 3 in D Major, Op. 18, No. 3
Brahms: String Quartet in C Minor, Op. 51, No. 1
John Adams: Shaker Loops (with Dan Ruccia, conductor; Robbie Link, bass & Duke students) (1983)