17/18 Chamber Arts Series: American Brass Quintet

17/18 Chamber Arts Series: American Brass Quintet

Saturday, September 30 | 8 pm
$20 Ages 30 & Under
$10 Duke Students

Reserved Seating

Duke Performances 2017/18 season ticket packages — including the Pick-Four or More, Chamber Arts Series, Piano Recital Series, and Vocal Ensemble Series — will go on sale to the general public on TUESDAY, JUNE 20 at 11 AM. Single tickets to Duke Performances 2017/18 shows will go on sale TUESDAY, JULY 11 at 11 AM. Tickets will be available for purchase online, via phone at 919-684-4444, and in person at the Duke University Box Office, Monday through Friday, 11 AM to 6 PM.

Renewal deadlines for current subscribers for Duke Performances season ticket packages are as follows: Chamber Arts Series (Friday, April 21), Piano Recital Series (Friday, May 26), and Vocal Ensemble Series (Friday, May 26).

Famously dubbed “the high priests of brass” by Newsweek, the American Brass Quintet has built a world of its own during the last sixty years, sculpting new repertoire and setting artistic standards for the modern classical brass ensemble. With the bright highs of two trumpets and the undergirding low of a bass trombone, the American Brass Quintet has expanded the reputation and catalogue of classical brass through both contemporary commissions and arrangements of canonical works not intended for horns. They’ve made it a mission to treat both past and present with equal zeal.

The American Brass Quintet begins with a suite of renaissance music. They find comfort in mourning with John Dowland’s exquisite lute piece Lachrimae Antiquae, reimagine the intricate canzonettas and madrigals of Thomas Morley, and cavort through William Brade’s delightful Canzon. The night then turns toward the new with Joan Tower’s pulsing Copperwave, premiered for the hundredth anniversary of Julliard, where the quintet has been in residence for three decades. Kenneth Fuchs’ second brass quintet, 2016’s American, sometimes feels like a wonderfully warped fanfare. The night ends with Eric Ewazen’s bubbly Colchester Fantasy, whose intoxicating movements are named for the wild times and characters of English pubs in what’s believed to be the oldest town in Britain.


Kenneth Fuchs: Brass Quintet No. 2 (“American”)
Joan Tower: Copperwave
Eric Ewazen: Colchester Fantasy
Thomas Morley: Arise, Awake and I Go Before, My Darling
John Dowland: Lachrimae Antiquae
William Brade: Canzon